About Deerubbin LALC

Deerubbin Local Aboriginal Land Council (LALC) was established in 1984 under the Aboriginal Land Rights Act 1983 (NSW ALR Act) to service Greater Western Sydney and the Blue Mountains.

We were first known as Mt Druitt Land Council, before we changed to Daruk Land Council in 1986.

Our current name, Deerubbin, is drawn from the original name for the Hawkesbury Nepean River, which runs through the heart of our area.

Deerubbin LALC falls within the boundaries of the Blacktown, Parramatta, Baulkham Hill, Hawkesbury, Fairfield, Penrith and Blue Mountains City Council area’s.

Our key function is providing assistance to improve and foster the social, economic, physical and mental wellbeing of our members and all Aboriginal people within the area.

The Aboriginal community within our area is large and diverse in circumstance and aspiration, and is growing. According to statistics, our boundaries are home to the largest concentrated group of Aboriginal people in Australia!